jump to navigation

…changed plans to Maui… June 7, 2007

Posted by Chief in Bicycle, Biking, Camping, Culture, Hawaii, Touring, Travel.
trackback

For those who haven’t noticed, I’ve changed my summer bicycle touring plans from touring the Big Island of Hawaii to touring Maui. The only reason is because of the Hawaii SuperFerry schedule. Apparently they aren’t running to the Big Island when they first start up this summer. They are initially launching one ferry and providing once a day service to the islands of Maui and Kauai, six days a week (Sun – Fri).

They aren’t starting their runs to the Big Island until after they launch the second ferry, sometime in 2009.

So, it looks like I’ll be biking around Maui late this summer instead of the Big Island. Either way, it will be nice to be able to hop on a boat with my bike and all my gear and take a relaxing vacation on the other islands without a hotel and rental car. However, don’t think that this is a huge savings. Looking at their pricing, if I go during an off-peak day (no idea what day that is yet), it will cost $44 (assuming I pay 14 days prior and buy online) for me, and $25 for my bike. That’s if they don’t also charge me excess baggage. Oh, and that is each way. So, the cheapest I could do it for is $138, but could cost me as much as $174, if they don’t charge me for excess baggage (which they likely could with a trunk bag, front panniers, and rear panniers. Oh, and the fine print on their fare prices? they don’t include fuel price surcharges…

But, for five or six days of riding around and camping, I think I’ll come out better this way, and don’t have to worry about boxing up the bike for a plane ride, or shipping it. So, I suppose I can wait until 2009 for my trip to the Big Island.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

