jump to navigation

…I lived… April 28, 2008

Posted by Chief in Bicycle, Biking, Culture, Hawaii, Rides.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Well, I finished the 2008 Haleiwa Metric Century… and I even did the whole 100km.

Overall, I felt better than I did last year. I rode with two friends, and had a great time.

Starting off, I wasn’t doing so well. My legs ached and felt drained 5 miles into the ride. By the time we hit the first check point at the 10 mile mark, I figured out that I had two problems. The first was that my seat was too low. I had made some adjustments after it had worked loose, and did not get it back to where I needed it. The second was that I was starting on an empty tank. I hadn’t eaten anything in the morning before the ride.

So, I raised my seat a little, and fueled up at the first checkpoint. After that I felt much better.

The morning was absolutely amazing. Beautiful. We fought a bit of a headwind, but that would obviously help us on the return. As the day wore on, it got hotter and hotter. The last stretch was miserable… but we finished.

Distance: 100km (actual bike computer distance: 59 miles)
Time: 4 and 1/2 hours (actual bike computer time: 4hrs 28min)

Not too bad. We started rolling a little before 0800, and rolled back into Haleiwa a little after 1300, so not quite an hour off the bike during the entire ride. Waaaay better than last year.

I’ll tell you what, though… I’m tired of riding the hybrid on these long rides. It’s too heavy and upright. Quite a workout on my legs, but I think I’m ready for a faster road-style bike.

Here’s some pics:

Waiting line

This is the waiting line for the start. It’s about half through right now. There were hundreds of riders. Not quite a thousand, but there were hundreds.

family bike

This was definitely a family event! He’d already unloaded most of the family and was “parking the bike” when I snagged this pic. Everyone looked like they were having a lot of fun.

Comments»

1. Alvin Wong - April 28, 2008

Aloha:
I also enjoyed the 2008 Haleiwa Metric Century and loved reading your blog. Although the last mile was a grind, it really felt good riding to the finish. I completed my ride in 5 hours, about 4 hours riding time and 1 hour at the rest stops. If you have more pictures, it would be great to see them. Mahalo.

2. Chief - April 28, 2008

It was a great time…

…and I wish I took more pictures.

The only other ones I have are the two of my Sirrus and my friends Bianchi. It was a great day for pictures, but I spent too much time in the saddle. 🙂

3. Michael - April 28, 2008

Hey!

I’ve been a long time RSS subscriber and it was great to see that a fellow blogger rode the Century 🙂 I’ve got a few pictures on Flickr from the event. I met this really cool dude named Ed on the bus on the way to Haleiwa and we stuck together through the entire ride.

Did the full 100k too and by the last 5km or so I was totally dead and barely made it up those last few hills. Was on a singlespeed too!

You can check out my pix here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/uscfan/

4. Thor - May 22, 2008

Awesome! Didn’t you forget to eat for the last century too??? hmmm I see a pattern developing here.

Maybe you need a pre-flight checklist 🙂

Congratulations, I was there with you (mentally).

You really need a Raleigh Pursuit…….


Leave a Reply

