jump to navigation

…Too Long… January 30, 2017

Posted by Chief in Uncategorized.
trackback

So, it’s been too long.

Too long since I last posted.

Too long since I last rode.

Too long since I last tuned a bike.

Too long since I sat on a trainer in the winter.

Too long since I bought a new bike.

Too long since I gave away my last bike.

It’s just been too long.

I don’t currently have a bike. My Long Haul Trucker was a tad big. I did the best I could with it, but couldn’t get it there. Seat adjustments. Shorter stem. Just couldn’t get it right. It’s in good hands now and will get ridden as it deserves to be ridden.

Come mid-March, I’ll (hopefully) get a bit of a bonus from work. After paying back a couple debts, I’ll be bike shopping. It’s time to get back in the saddle.

I’ll set it up as a commuter with fenders and racks and lights. It’ll be a bit heavy, but so am I. I’d rather have the bike setup to ride to and from work than kept as a road bike when I don’t do real road-biking.

What I’ll need:

  • Shoes: I prefer mountain biking or touring shoes. Something with a soft sole to walk in since I’ll be using it for commuting as well as weekend rides.
  • Helmet: Eh. Don’t care which.
  • Gloves: I need good gloves. I’m not convinced the gel gloves are any better than just a good pair of leather biking gloves.
  • Bar Tape: I like good bar tape. Something that matches the saddle. Leather.
  • Saddle: Brooks. Only a Brooks.
  • Pedals: Crank Bros. Candy 3.
  • Bike: Surly. Cross-Check. Preferably the black.
  • Accessories: Fenders. Lights. Racks.

That’s what I’m hoping to put together this spring…

http://surlybikes.com/bikes/cross_check

cross-check-15-orange_sv_930x390

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

